Virtual Rise Awards Winners for 2020

Dr. John Mukum Mbaku, Dr. Craig Aberg, Dr. Michele Culumber and Dr. Edward Walker were all winners at the 2nd annual Virtual RISE Awards.

Resourceful students shift to virtual product competitions

“Moonola” from Utah State University was the winner of the Smart Snacks for Kids Product Development Competition. The team was made up of USU students Savannah Branson, Jared Buhler and Melissa March.

IAFP announces 2020 award recipients

Si Hong Park, Oregon State University, Corvallis, will be presented the Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award. This award is presented to a young researcher who has shown outstanding ability and professional promise in the early years of his or her career.

Utah State Food Science team wins 2019 IMPA New Dairy Product Award

Utah State University food science students won the 2019 Idaho Milk Processors Association new product competition sponsored by Dairy West. Their grand-prize-winning new product idea — a cheese-based meatless chicken nugget alternative called Moogets — earned them a $10,000 cash prize for Utah State’s food science program. The team is comprised of Melissa Marsh, Jung Mun Yang, Ireland Green, Savannah Branson, and Sophie Overbeck. Dave Irish serves as faculty advisor.

BYU Food Science team wins 2018 IMPA Award

A team of food science students from Brigham Young University won the 2018 Idaho Milk Processors Association new product competition. The BYU team is comprised of co-captains Kate Hartmann and David Doxey and their colleaguesJeremy Arbon, Jeffrey Rime, Greyden Clark, Courtney Marshall, and Alisa Larsen. Mike Dunn, Laura Jefferies and Brad Taylor serve as faculty advisers.